Making Memories · Thoughts

Un-Toxicating Monday Part One: The Day-Off Discoveries

Picture1

Today is my day-off. Finally, after all the rain pouring heavily on my hopes of going out these past weeks, today the sun was so up that I GET TO GO OUT!!!

After weeks staying at home doing nothing but work, work, and socializing using Facebook, I find myself outdoors. I have to admit I was still working on some writing tasks earlier but with the net going off on me, I decided to leave earlier before my scheduled date with of my two best buddies (Kahren and Dennis).

Today I was really hungry for the world.

Usually, I spend my free-days either sleeping, reading, or going to church. But after being so secluded in the four walls of my home and work, the last thing I need is to confine myself indoors. The perfect place was Sorsogon Baywalk.

Besides the accessibility for both my friends to immediately meet up with me, I wanted to check the much talked-about candy-crushed-inspired cottages.  I’ve been planning to feature this place too but with the discoveries I had earlier, I think that will have to wait a little more…

Today, that Un-toxicating Monday craving led to prove how the world should move on from the world.

Confusing? Here’s a clarification…

People are so fixated by what others are up to instead of focusing within themselves. It’s a good trait at some point but to worry on things that they have no jurisdiction over seems to have made them mimic how the rest of the world think and act.

Meaningless and Half-Asleep

Earlier, before leaving the house, I continued reading Tuesdays with Morrie. Here, I read a statement he told his former student Mitch:

So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they’re busy doing things they think are important. This is because they’re chasing the wrong things.

I believe it was God readying me for what today has in-store because when I went out to meet the world again this is exactly what I saw: too many people chasing the wrong things…

Things…or should I say ideas…

Earlier I saw how most of us are so fixated on what the rest thinks instead of looking from within ourselves.

  1. I saw how people can be so fixated with the troubles they hear, read, and watch that the solution they can think of to stop it is more trouble – solving from the outside to the inside instead of inside-out.
  2. I saw how people assume too much and worry about situations that are completely harmless just because it’s something new to them—worrying without basis.
  3.  I saw how people can be so judgmental instead of understanding on someone who needs their care more than the disgust—adding insult to injury.

Devoting to the World

There’s a right way and there’s the wrong way to devote you to the world. Unfortunately most of us have chosen the wrong way – chasing the wrong things…

The lecture Morrie gave Mitch is followed by these words…

The way to get meaning into your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to the community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.

The best way to devote yourself to the world starts by looking at yourself: understanding who you really are, what you want, and how blessed you are. Looking at the mistakes of the world and offering a solution is useless if you can’t even admit your weaknesses.

How can you enhance yourself if you can’t admit your imperfection?

Remember, you need to love yourself if you intend to love others; starting from your family to your friends which will eventually radiate to their own circle.

Loving oneself is forgiving your weaknesses

Loving oneself is acknowledging your strength

Loving oneself is working on being better 

Loving oneself makes you shine to inspire…

Kindness begets kindness; like attracts like. The best way to solve a worry is to know everything will be okay. You can only do a part of the solution by moving and inspiring the greatness out of everyone else…it’s an inside-out job…

Leave a Reply

